All wannabe journalists should read this

3 Sides to a Story

“When God hands you a gift, he also hands you a whip; and the whip is intended for self-flagellation solely.” – Truman Capote

It isn’t easy being a journalist.

It’s long hours, horrible pay and trauma.

I studied journalism and media studies for four years.

Initially the only reason I decided to go into the journalistic sphere is because I just wanted to write. I didn’t care what I wrote about I just wanted to get my words out because I thought my opinion mattered.

Those idealistic opinions soon change when you enter the practical environment. The fast paced nature of newsrooms, the spur of the moment trips into dangerous terrains and the hourly deadlines seems exhilarating at first but soon loses its gloss.

After my four years of studying I was thrown in the deep end of the pool. I was sent to the biggest tabloid newspaper in the…

View original post 458 more words

Leave a Reply

