The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Friend me, Like me, Tag me, Share me; but don’t love me, touch me, hug me, kiss Me. I live in a virtual whirl, my residence is in the Twittersphere, wanna know if I’m in, just Poke Me.

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

The front door is made of log on. Don’t forget to swipe the welcome mat. Park your Periscope on the Wi-Fi, and just give me a Click; for I’ll fetch you a packet of Data Cookies and glass of fresh Streaming-Live in the mere post of an Instapic.

Well we’re all just Clowns now, aren’t we?

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

I dwell on my own delusions, self-aggrandising, self-merchandising, self-sensationalising. An avalanche of Likes and a shower of Shares; that’s all one needs to inflates one’s graces and Airs.

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Celebrity status awaits the fool with the manifold followers; celebrity status mocks and laughs, as we climb the stairway to the Server in the Sky; the more Feeds we can hang off our coat-tails, the higher we convince ourselves that we’ll soar and Fly.

C’mon now, admit it, we’re all just Clowns now, aren’t we?

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

You see my Facebook but do you see my Face? Multiple connections, LinkedIn king! Binded by the shiny and new, you feel you perceive life legendary, yet it’s a cloak that shrouds an empty Space.

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Fad of the moment, flavour of the month, hit those numbers in a style spectacular, and you’re more than an Avatar, you’re a Social Media Influencer. Brands bow before you, billboards rise above you, dollars rain down around you, you’re a Hipster darling of the savvy Marketer.

But let’s be truly honest, we’re all just Clowns now, aren’t we?

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Anyway, where would you run, where would you Hide? We don’t exist without a Username and Password anymore. You live life one Post at a time, and the Timeline is the road you Ride.

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Today we’re masters of our own life fiction, brightening up the canvas of our wannabe charade with our own depictions. Yet we fight off Fears; scared that somehow, someone, somewhere, might shatter asunder the spurious Feeds, revealing the sad, sad truth of our desperate Tears.

You see I keep telling you, at last do you believe: we’re all just Clowns now, aren’t we?

The snare of social media, a digital affliction, an inescapable addiction.

Leave a Reply

